Skip to main content


Showing posts from October, 2018

Roger Greenaway

Roger Greenaway
Born Roger John Reginald Greenaway, 23 August 1938, Bristol, UK
The Kestrels (1956 - 1965) One And One (1964) David And Jonathan (1965 - 1968) Brotherhood Of Man (Autumn 1969 - mid 1971) White Plains (1970 - 1974) The Naked Truth (Jan/Feb 1970) The Pipkins (Feb/March 1970 - Oct 1971, early 1975) Currant Kraze (March/April 1970) Campus Kazoo (Nov 1970) Driftwood (1972) Roger Greenaway [Solo] (1972) The Nashville Soul Orchestra (1976, 1979) Excelsus (1981/1982) [Songwriter] (1964 - Present]

The Kestrels (1956 to 1965)
The Kestrels (originally called The Hi-Fi's, then The Beltones) were a harmony group formed in Bristol around 1956. Roger Greenaway, Tony Burrows, and Roger Maggs all met while working at the Bristol-based paper firm E.S.& A Robinson. They had left school at the age of sixteen and secured jobs as trainee reps, often working in the company's postal department. According to Tony in the book Tin Pan Alley: The Rise Of Elton John, it was Roger Greenaway who ha…